2020 Food Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

The Arkansas Department of Heritage announced the finalists for their annual Food Hall of Fame inductees this afternoon at an event. This year’s winners will be announced at an event on February 24th.
The Food Hall of Fame allows nominations, and then a committee votes on the winner for four categories. A fifth category takes the total nominations for restaurants as a people’s choice selection. This is the forth year for the Hall of Fame and previous winners have hailed from all across Arkansas.
This year’s finalists are
Arkansas Food Hall of Fame – This award recognizes those long-standing restaurants that have become legendary attractions in Arkansas.

  • AQ Chicken House (Springdale)
  • Bruno’s Little Italy (Little Rock)
  • Cattleman’s Steakhouse (Texarkana)
  • Ed Walkers Drive-in (Fort Smith)
  • Feltner’s Whataburger (Russellville)
  • Kream Kastle (Blytheville)
  • Murry Restaurant (Hazen)
  • Neal’s Cafe (Springdale)
  • Ohio Club (Hot Springs)
  • Star of India (Little Rock)

Proprietor of the Year – This award honors a chef, cook and/or restaurant owner in Arkansas who has made significant achievements in the food industry.

  • Capi Peck – Trios (Little Rock)
  • Matt McClure – Hive (Bentonville)
  • Peter Brave – Brave New (Little Rock)
  • Sami Lal – Star of India (Little Rock)
  • Scott McGehee- Yellow Rocket Concepts (Little Rock/Rogers)

Food-Themed Event – This award honors a community food-themed event or festival that makes our state a great place to live and visit.

  • Bradley County Pink Tomato Festival (Warren)
  • Greek Food Festival (Little Rock)
  • Our Lady of the Lake Spaghetti Dinner (Lake Village)
  • Tontitown Grape Festival (Tontitown)

Gone But Not Forgotten – Remembers the collective culinary legacy of a once-and-always influential Arkansas restaurant that has since ceased operations.

  • Habebes Cafe
  • Mary Maestri’s
  • Shaddons BBQ
Share on facebook

More Articles