Student Film Winners Announced for the Arkansas Historic Film Prize Competition

A team of Fayetteville High School students won the grand prize in the first annual Arkansas Historic Film Prize competition of short documentaries focusing on historic properties throughout the state, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Darcy Olmstead, Caroline Wetsell, Maggie Bell and Joshua Carpenter of Fayetteville were the grand prize winners for their film on the Headquarters House. Their film, along with other prize­winning works, will be shown at 6 p.m. on Friday, May 22, at the Ron Robinson Theater at 100 River Market Avenue in Little Rock. The free event is open to the public.

Other Arkansas Historic Film Prize winners were:

  •  First Prize – Austin Chitmon and Chanse Harp of

    Bentonville High School for “Battle of Prairie Grove”

  •  Second Prize – Jordan Thompson of the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts for “Our Forgotten

    Lady” (Hot Springs’ Majestic Hotel)

  •  Third Prize (tie) – Kelton McCarthy, Zaid Martinez and

    Andrew Trice of Fayetteville High School for “History of FHS” and Gracia Robison of Dardanelle High School for “Mount Nebo State Park”

  • Fourth Prize – Tanis Taft of Conway High School for “Simon Brothers Dairy Farm.”

The Arkansas Historic Film Prize is sponsored by the AHPP and the Arkansas Humanities Council in partnership with the Arkansas Educational Television Network’s “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase.”

Share on facebook

More Articles